Skip Navigation
10K scholarship giveaway!
Register for ScholarshipPoints for your chance to win.
Sign Up Now
After Navigation
Home Scholarships College Scholarships History of College Scholarships

History of College Scholarships

Year Event
2011 Department of Defense and Full-Year Continuing Appropriations Act, 2011 (P.L. 112-10) eliminates funding for the Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program and the Jacob K. Javits Fellowships Program
2000 College Scholarship Fraud Prevention Act of 2000 (P.L. 106-420)
1999 National Scholarship Providers Association (NSPA) and Gates Millennium Scholars Program established
1997 Jack Kent Cooke Foundation established
1996 Federal Trade Commission (FTC) Project ScholarScam shuts down scholarship scams
1995 First free online scholarship matching service launched
1994 Podberesky v. Kirwan (US 4th District Court of Appeals) ruling concerning race-based scholarships 
1986 National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 1987 (P.L. 99-661) establishes the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship for undergraduate students who intend to pursue careers in science, mathematics and engineering
1986 Tax Reform Act of 1986 (P.L. 99-514) restricts tax-free treatment of scholarships and fellowships to students who are degree candidates and excludes living expenses from the tax-free treatment
1985 Departments of Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education and Related Agencies Appropriation Act, 1986 (P.L. 99-178) establishes the national Federal Merit Scholarship Program, later renamed the Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program
1980 National Graduate Fellowship Program (NGFP) established to provide funding for graduate students in the arts and humanities, later renamed in 1986 as the Jacob K. Javits Fellowship Program
1980 Tax Treatment Extension Act of 1980 (P.L. 96-541) treats the portion of a scholarship or fellowship that is fee for services as taxable income
1975 Harry S Truman Memorial Scholarship Act (P.L. 93-642) establishes scholarships for public service
1975 Hispanic Scholarship Fund established
1972 Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (P.L. 92-318) bans discrimination on the basis of sex in student aid and education programs, consequently requiring gender equity in institutional athletic scholarships
1965 Higher Education Act of 1965 (P.L. 89-329)
1963 Winston Churchill Scholarship Program established to enable American students to pursue graduate study in science, mathematics and engineering at Cambridge University
1955 National Merit Scholarship Corporation established
1954 Internal Revenue Code of 1954 provides unlimited exclusion from income for scholarships and fellowships
1953 Marshall Scholarships established to enable American students to pursue two years of graduate study in the United Kingdom
1952 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program established
1946 Fulbright Scholarships establishes scholarships for international study
1945 National Honor Society (NHS) Scholarship Program established by National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP)
1944 United Negro College Fund (UNCF) founded
1942 Westinghouse Science Talent Search established, renamed Intel Science Talent Search in 1998
1937 Public Health Service fellowship program established
1913 New York Regents College Scholarship Program established
1902 Rhodes Scholarships established by the will of Cecil John Rhodes
1643 Harvard College creates first endowed scholarship, established by Lady Anne Radcliffe Mowlson


Win a $10,000 Scholarship!
Join ScholarshipPoints today and be automatically entered into our quarterly $10,000 giveaway.
All fields are required. Providing incorrect or incomplete information may result in forfeiting your scholarship should you win.


Email This Article

Related Content