Statutes of Limitation

Statutes of limitation set the maximum time after an event, such as default on a debt, during which a lawsuit may be brought. Statutes of limitation for private student loans vary by state from 3 years to 15 years, but 6 years is the most common, followed by 3, 5 and 10 years. Federal education loans were previously subject to a 6-year statute of limitations before the Higher Education Technical Amendments of 1991 (P.L. 102-26) eliminated the statute of limitations on federal education loans.

Private student loans are subject to a statute of limitations. Federal student loans are not.

State Statutes of Limitation on Private Student Loans

3 Years

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Kansas
  • Mississippi
  • New Hampshire
  • South Carolina

4 Years

  • California
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • Pennsylvania
  • Texas

5 Years

  • Arizona
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Missouri
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Virginia

6 Years

  • Alabama
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington

8 Years

  • Montana

10 Years

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Louisiana
  • Rhode Island
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

15 Years

  • Kentucky

Student Loan Consolidation - Apply Today

Have you been employed for at least 2 years?
Do you currently have a credit score of at least 680?
Have you defaulted on your current loans?*

* Default = 270 days late/missed payment on a federal loan and typically 90 days late/missed payment on a private loan (contact your lender for exact definition of default).

The Student Survival Guide: The perfect tool for navigating high school & college!
Try it!